80 days in Country!

Well folks I have almost made it to 100 days. Due to us being in the country for almost 90 days we are having to sort out all this visa information. I have a pretty nice routine going now.

Here are some interesting things that happened/happening in my life:

Teaching Conversational English: Every Wednesday evening I teach a conversational English class to adults and college students trying to improve their English. Most of them want to improve their English in hopes of future job opportunities (Bosnia as 40% unemployment currently). We discuss current events, our childhoods, the differences in education systems, etc. I have really enjoyed making connections with these people. It makes me miss teaching Hebrew to the 2nd graders at my temple. Here is a picture of me in action teaching: img_4488

Halloween Pumpkin Carving: While Halloween is not celebrated here the other Americans and I decided to make a special celebration at the American Corner. A place funded by the embassy to build relations with the locals. We invited a school group as well as some economically disadvantaged students to carve pumpkins, listen to Halloween music, and of course eats LOTS and LOTS of candy!

Enjoy some random pictures of food: 

If you know anyone who is interested in applying for YES please encourage them to contact me! The deadline is December 1st! img_4585

It was 30 degrees and the sales lady thought we were crazy, but hey sometimes you need comfort food! Pictured from left to right (Maeve, Samantha, and Darcy). YES abroad girls in Sarajevo/my family. Not pictured Ben who is also my family he just went home and didn’t come out with us that night. img_4568

My host dad (Zaim) and I taking a picture during dinner to encourage people to apply to YES. Everything pictured is homemade by my amazing host mom Sabiha. The soup we are eating has beans and lamb that was sacrificed for Eid. We have a ton of it in our freezer. img_4433

Just normal shopping.

img_4496

Normal dinner of cabbage soup, pita, and bread.

img_4402

Psyche! Not a food photo! Just and adorable photo of some friends I made that I thought should grace this page with it’s presence!

2 thoughts on “80 days in Country!

  1. How Cool that you’re teaching English! I bet you’re an excellent teacher. You are not only learning/experiencing all you can–but you’re also giving of yourself to help others. I desperately want to set up some sort of correspondence between you and my social justice students in the spring.

    Like

  2. I love this blog! You’re a fascinating anthropologist. I’m not surprised to see you teaching- sharing your knowledge seems to come naturally.

    Can’t wait to read more!

    Like

Leave a comment